Advisory Council Members 2016

Advisory Council Members:

Prof. Lee Shulman, Chairperson
President Emeritus of The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and a leading academic figure in the study of teaching and teacher education; the assessment of teaching; medical education; the psychology of instruction in science, mathematics, and medicine; the logic of educational research; and the quality of teaching in higher education.
Shulman was the first Charles E. Ducommun Professor of Education and Professor (by courtesy) of Psychology at Stanford University. He was previously Professor of Educational Psychology and Medical Education at Michigan State University, and the founding Co-Director of the Institute for Research on Teaching (IRT) at Michigan State University.
Shulman is a past president of the American Educational Research Association (AERA) and a member and former president of the National Academy of Education. In 2002 he was elected a Fellow of The American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

Yoni Amir
Mathematics Coach at the Davidson Institute and former Member of the Trump Master Teacher Award Committee.

Danny Bar-Giora
Executive Director of the Mandel School for Educational Leadership, and a former school principal and senior executive at the Ministry of Education.

Peggy Brookins
President of the National Board for Professional Teaching Standards, formerly a School Principal and a Mathematics Teacher.

Leah Dolev
Head of Mathematics Instruction at the ORT School Network and a Mathematics Teacher.

Shlomo Dovrat
General Partner of Carmel Ventures and former Chairman of a National Taskforce on Education Reform.

Muhana Fares
Head of National Programs at the Ministry of Education, former director of the Druze Education System and a Mathematics Teacher.

Marcia Linn
Researcher of education in mathematics, science, and technology in the Graduate School of Education at the University of California, Berkeley.

Kobi Shvarzbord
Physics Teacher in Haifa, Winner of the 2013 Trump Master Teacher Award.

Eyal Sinai
Physics Teacher in Modi’in, Winner of the De-Shalit Prize in 2011, Finalist of the Trump Master Teacher Award in 2012, and Teacher of the Year for 2015. Formerly Sinai taught in Kiryat Shmonah and Kiryat Malachi and led the Atidim Science Teaching program in the periphery of Israel.

Dalit Stauber
Former Director General of the Ministry of Education and an English Language Teacher.