## 2014 Advisory Council Members:

- 1. Professor Lee **SHULMAN**, Chairman. President Emeritus of The Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching and the first Charles E. Ducommun Professor of Education at Stanford University. Shulman is a past president of the American Educational Research Association (AERA) and a member and former president of the National Academy of Education.
- 2. Dr. Abir **ABED**, A chemistry and environmental studies teacher at the Galilee School in Nazareth, the only non-selective Arab high school in the city. Abed earned her Ph.D in the teaching of chemistry at the Technion. Abed was a finalist of the Trump Master Teacher Award in 2012.
- 3. Mr. Genady **ARNOVICH**, Former mathematics teacher in Mevasseret Zion, Chief Coordinator of the National mathematics curriculum and head of the mathematics assessment team for the Ministry of Education. Arnovich has written and edited several textbooks for the teaching and learning of mathematics in Israeli high schools.
- 4. Mr. Danny **BAR-GIORA**, Former Director of the Jerusalem Education Administration Department and head of the Ministry's unit responsible for implementing wage agreements with the teacher unions. Previously, Mr. Bar-Giora served as a school principal, and currently he heads the Mandel School for Educational Leadership.
- 5. Mr. Shlomo **DOVRAT**, Founder and General Partner of Carmel Ventures. In 2003 Mr. Dovrat was appointed as chairman of a National Task Force for the Advancement of Education in Israel. He is one of the founders of Israel Venture Network, a philanthropic organization led by high-tech executives in Israel.
- 6. Ms. Avital **ELBAUM-COHEN**, High school teacher of mathematics and physics in Rehovot. Previously she developed and tutored online professional development workshops for teachers and co-authored a textbook. Elbaum-Cohen is a Ph.D candidate at the Weizmann Institute of Science, and her research thesis focuses on reading mathematical texts in high school.
- 7. Professor Marcia **LINN**, Professor of development and cognition at the University of California, Berkeley. She is a member of the National Academy of Education and a Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science, the American Psychological Association, and the Association for Psychological Science. Professor Linn earned her Ph.D. at Stanford University.
- 8. Mr. Kobi **SHVARZBORD**, Physics teacher at the Leo Baeck Education Center in Haifa. He is a graduate of the Weizmann Institute of Science and the first Israeli teacher to be trained at the particle accelerator of CERN, the European Nuclear Research Institute in Geneva. He was the winner of the Trump Master Teacher Award in 2013.
- 9. Mr. Eyal **SINAI**, Physics teacher in Modi'in for the past eight years, where he leads the local student team to the International Physics Olympics. Previously, he served as a

- physics teacher in Kiryat Shemonah and then in the development town of Kiryat Malachi in the South. Sinai was a finalist of the Trump Master Teacher Award in 2012.
- 10. Ms. Dalit **STAUBER**, Former Director General of the Ministry of Education and head of its Tel-Aviv District. English as a Second Language teacher by training at the Bar Ilan University, Stauber served as a teacher, a pedagogic director and vice principal at a high school in Ramat Hasharon. She is a graduate of the Mandel program for senior executives of the Ministry of Education.