Trump Master Teacher Award

Trump Master Teacher Award Recipients for 2013

In 2013, Kobi Schwartzbord, a physics teacher at the Leo Baeck High School in Haifa was awarded the Trump Master Teacher Award. At the official ceremony held at the Prime Minister’s Office, the prize was awarded by Prime Minister Benjamin Netanyahu and Education Minister Rabbi Shai Piron.

Honorable mention was awarded to Iris Kahana, a math teacher at the Sharet School in Netanya, and Danny Ovadia, a physics teacher at the Misgav Upper School and the Virtual High School.

The 2013 Award Committee:

Karen Tal, Chair, former principal of the Bialik-Rogosin School in Tel Aviv
Dalit Stauber, former Director General of the Education Ministry
Avraham Harkavi, researcher of math instruction, Weizmann Institute of Science
Yaron Lehavi, teacher trainer and developer of physics materials, Weizmann Institute and David Yellin College
Yoni Amir, teacher trainer and developer of math materials, Weizmann Institute and Bar-Ilan University
Abir Abed, chemistry teacher and honorable mention in the 2012 Trump Master Teacher Award

The Committee Decision to Award the 2013 Trump Master Teacher Award to Kobi Schwartzbord:

“In Kobi Schwartzbord’s classroom, the students and their learning are central. They receive individual and group assignments; they experiment together, debate one another, learn from their mistakes, and attain insights, all while dealing with complex, challenging scientific issues. With acceptance and a cheerful demeanor, Kobi Schwartzbord succeeds in understanding the thought-patterns, learning styles, and learning speeds of each and every student, while diagnosing their difficulties and providing individual responses in real time. For integrating personal attention based on the belief that every student can succeed, for adapting teaching methods to his students’ needs and abilities, for creating a class atmosphere that encourages participation and debate, and for uncompromising professionalism and educational excellence, we hereby present the Trump Master Teacher Award to Mr. Kobi Schwartzbord.”

Statistics about the 2013 Trump Master Teacher Award candidates:



Teaching experience

4-10 Years
11-15 Years
16-20 Years
21-25 Years
26-30 Years
31 Years or more


Math Physics
Computer Science